1/2 A Gram Later I Was Hearing Cooley Loud…

DBT, Mike Cooley - No Comments » - Posted on March, 27 at 9:00 am

The DBT Rock Show made a two night stop at the 9:30 Club last weekend. Due to a little learning,luck,and half sense we have some killer 3DD shot video and audio of DBT blowing shit up on night two. Enjoy!

The Rock Show Rises…

DBT, English Oceans - No Comments » - Posted on March, 14 at 8:00 am

The English Oceans tour officially begins tonight in Raleigh followed by Rock Shows Saturday night in Richmond and Sunday in Delaware.  For another little taste of what the new songs sound and look like live check out this 3DD video from the recent 40 Watt shows of Til He’s Dead Or Rises. The part where Patterson comes in at the end of the chorus with “UNTIL HE’S DEAD……” is pure badass if you know what I mean. English Oceans is DBT’s highest Billboard debut to date coming in the first week at sixteen! I can’t ever remember being more pumped for shows and spirits are indeed high all over so by all means get to a show if you can. See y’all at the Rock Show tonight(and all over).

English Oceans Out Everywhere With A Bullet…


English Oceans is out officially today to the best reviews and reception DBT has had since maybe they started off a record with a song about sister fucking. When I checked this afternoon on Amazon’s best seller list English Oceans was sitting at number 4  behind the Frozen soundtrack,Beck,and Pharrell(!). DBT’s good friend Jason Thrasher was on hand at the 40 Watt a few weeks ago with his cameras the night before the homecoming shows started and he released this one today.  Hood is playing that red SG like a man possessed which is the sure sign that he’s getting off and that this is a great Cooley song. Jay is ripping on his red SG and the EZY-B and Matt Patton are in the pocket with big smiles all the way around. David Barbe recorded the audio on this live take so turn it up if you can. DBT!

English Oceans Round Up…

English Oceans - No Comments » - Posted on February, 28 at 3:01 pm

With the impending excitement building towards the actual official release of English Oceans next week there has been all kinds of news on the DBT front over the last few days. The latest word from the Hood came out yesterday and it not only gave a shout out and thanks to everyone over on the 3DD message board for raising $5,000 for Nuci’s Space it also included links to streams of the new record plus the exciting news that DBT will be performing on Conan March 6th. Tickets went on sale today for a just announced special English Oceans release rock show at Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever in Los Angeles. It’s a tiny venue so hop on over and grab that ticket son as this one is sure to sell out. If you have not pre-ordered English Oceans yet you might want to do it from the DBT store as you will get a special download of what they are calling The Dragon Pants EP(5 songs you won’t be able to get anywhere else). And speaking of exclusive here’s another 3DD video from the recent homecoming stand at the 40 Watt. Turn it up if you can.

June Rock Shows…

DBT - No Comments » - Posted on February, 26 at 2:11 pm

 In a bit under 15 days the Rock Show will be making a return trip over seas for a single show in Spain,heading to Texas for another one off and then points in between before a return to the site of so many triumphant past performances for the bands fifth Bonnaroo show. Tickets are now on sale for most of these from DBT’s baseline ticketing. See y’all at the June Rock Shows,I’m certain it won’t snow.

Fri May 30 Barcelona Spain Primavera Sound
Sun Jun 01 Houston TX Free Press Festival
Tue Jun 03 Tampa FL Tampa Theater
Wed Jun 04 Ft Lauderdale FL Culture Room
Thu Jun 05 Orlando FL Beacham Theater
Fri Jun 06 Ponte Verde FL Ponte Vedra Music Hall
Sat Jun 07 Myrtle Beach SC House Of Blues
Tue Jun 10 Norfolk VA The Norva
Wed Jun 11 Lancaster PA Chameleon Club
Fri Jun 13 Lexington KY Busters
Jun 12-15 Manchester TN Bonnaroo

Feb 1414

DBT - No Comments » - Posted on February, 20 at 9:50 am

For those lucky enough to spend Valentines Day at the fabulous 40 Watt in Athens here’s a little taste of the middle night’s opener. 3DD made video and audio minus the planes,trains,and automobiles it took to make it happen.

PrimerHarborCoat

DBT - No Comments » - Posted on February, 17 at 11:11 am


Peter Buck sat in with DBT on Saturday night at the 40 Watt for three songs. Here he is helping bring some of that famous 12 string jingle jangle on one of Cooley’s best new songs from English Oceans.

Made Up Around A 40 Watt Light…

DBT - No Comments » - Posted on February, 3 at 7:53 pm

What we have here is a killer acoustic take of the title track of the new DBT record. This video was recorded in Birmingham back in November with Hood and Cooley standing right next to each other with some interesting instrumentation from the rest of the guys. I can see all kinds of interesting takes on these tunes as DBT in radio stations and record stores once the band gets out on the road. More please.

Rockin’ All Over The World…

DBT - No Comments » - Posted on January, 9 at 9:34 am

The DBT Rock Show is returning to the road in 2014 . Stopping in some of the bands favorite venues along with some new ones The 2014 DBT of Hood,Cooley,Morgan,Gonzalez,and Patton will be playing songs from English Oceans for the first time and taking the Rock Show all over the U.S.(plus a week in Europe). There is now a pre-sale going on via DBT’s baseline ticketing. See y’all at the Rock Show(s).Can’t wait!

Fri Jan 31 Asheville, NC Orange Peel w/ T. Hardy Morris
Sat Feb 01 Asheville, NC Orange Peel w/ Promise Land Sound
Thu Feb 13 Athens GA 40 Watt w/ New Madrid
Fri Feb 14 Athens GA 40 Watt w/ Camp Amped Band and T. Hardy Morris
Sat Feb 15 Athens GA 40 Watt w/ St. Paul and the Broken Bones
Fri Mar 14 Raleigh NC The Ritz w/ Blitzen Trapper
Sat Mar 15 Richmond VA The National w/ Blitzen Trapper
Sun Mar 16 Wilmington DE World Cafe Live @ The Queen w/ Blitzen Trapper
Tue Mar 18 New Haven CT Toad’s Place w/ Blitzen Trapper
Thu Mar 20 New York NY Terminal 5 w/ Blitzen Trapper
Fri Mar 21 Boston MA House Of Blues w/ Blitzen Trapper
Sat Mar 22 Washington DC 9:30 Club w/ Blitzen Trapper
Sun Mar 23 Washington DC 9:30 Club w/ Blitzen Trapper
Tue Mar 25 Indianapolis IN The Vogue w/ Blitzen Trapper
Wed Mar 26 Milwaukee WI Turner Hall w/ Blitzen Trapper
Thu Mar 27 Minneapolis MN First Avenue w/ Blitzen Trapper
Fri Mar 28 Madison WI Barrymore Theater w/ Blitzen Trapper
Sat Mar 29 St. Louis MO The Pageant w/ Blitzen Trapper
Sat Apr 12 Berkeley CA The Greek Theatre w/ Willie Nelson & Shovels & Rope
Sat Apr 19 Denver CO Fillmore
Tue Apr 22 Vancouver BC Vogue Theater w/ Shovels & Rope
Wed Apr 23 Seattle WA Showbox @ Sodo w/ Shovels & Rope
Thu Apr 24 Portland OR Roseland w/ Shovels & Rope
Fri Apr 25 Sacramento CA Ace Of Spades w/ Shovels & Rope
Sat Apr 26 Los Angeles CA The Fonda Theater
Sun Apr 27 Phoenix AZ Crescent Ballroom
Wed Apr 30 San Antonio TX Aztec Theatre
Thu May 01 Austin TX Stubbs
Fri May 02 New Orleans LA Civic Theatre
Sat May 03 New Orleans LA Civic Theatre
Sat May 10 Dublin Ireland Vicar St.
Sun May 11 Glasgow UK ABC
Mon May 12 Manchester UK Ritz
Tue May 13 London UK Shepherd’s Bush Empire
Thu May 15 Amsterdam Netherlands Paradiso
Fri May 16 Antwerp Belgium Trix

Cooley/Hood Indeed…

English Oceans

 March winds of 2014 will bring us the long awaited follow up to Go Go Boots in the form of a brand new DBT record titled English Oceans.Due March 4th in the US and March 3rd in Europe this is DBT’s 12th record and the first with the retooled lean and mean line up of Hood,Cooley,Morgan,Gonzalez,and Patton.With David Barbe at the helm once again laying it all down on glorious analog tape English Oceans consists of thirteen songs,six of which are brand new Cooley originals plus Cooley’s take on Patterson’s Till He’s Dead Or Rises(!!). English Oceans also has what has to be the best and most fitting Wes Freed cover art ever.Even more amazing I believe is that it’s the first Wes cover not specifically commissioned yet fits the record like it was made for it.Maybe Wes picked up one of those space time continuum loop things? Also the news is out of a weeks worth of European Rock Shows this spring with tickets going on sale Friday December 6th. Check out the details of DBT’s kick ass new record over at Rolling Stone and join in the discussion over on our message board.