DBT SOTW #55 - Cartoon Gold

Talk about the songs, the shows, and anything else DBT related here.

Moderators: Jonicont, mark lynn, Maluca3, Tequila Cowboy, BigTom, CooleyGirl, olwiggum

GuitarManUpstairs

DBT SOTW #55 - Cartoon Gold

Post by GuitarManUpstairs »

Morning all.I had hoped to be able to put together a more in depth post on this song but unfortunately I had to travel everyday with work last week and then we left on Sunday for vacation so the weekend left little time for me to work with it either however i did manage to devote a few minutes towards deconstructing some of the (IMO) most cryptic lyrics in the Cooley catalogue.

I'm not good with numbers
I just count on knowing when I'm high enough
A mule with only two legs counting steps toward dangling carrots don't add up
I think about you when I can and even sometimes when I can't I do
Once the driver knows you got good sense he takes away the carrots too

Getting all excited finding nothing that was never there before
Is like bringing flowers to your Mama and tracking dog shit all over the floor
Jesus made the flowers but it took a dog to make the story good
I think about you when I can and sometime when I don't I probably should

Tending bar in LA after dark must be like mining cartoon gold
Rocks that won't cooperate and tools that drive you crazy must get old
I think about you when I can and sometimes when I do I still get caught
sitting in a bar in LA after dark with my sunglasses on